Brazil includes seven Olympics champions

Brazil includes seven Olympics champions

Brazil includes seven Olympics champions RIO: Seven players who won gold for Brazil at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics are in new coach Tite’s squad for the next two World Cup qualifiers.

Goalkeeper Weverton, defenders Marquinhos and Rodrigo Caio, midfielder Renato Augusto and strikers Neymar, Gabriel Barbosa and Gabriel Jesus all played in the final at the Maracana stadium on Saturday to give the hosts their first Olympic gold in men’s football.

Brazil beat Germany on penalty kicks, with Neymar sealing the gold medal.

Brazil will play Ecuador in Quito on Sept 1 and five days later host Colombia in Manaus.

Brazil has nine points and is in sixth place in its qualifying group. The first four have direct spots in the Russia 2018 World Cup tournament.

Brazil Squad

Goalkeepers: Weverton, Marcelo Grohe, and Alisson.

Defenders: Miranda, Gil, Marquinhos, Rodrigo Caio, Fagner, Daniel Alves, Marcelo, and Filipe Luis.

Midfielders: Casemiro, Rafael Carioca, Paulinho, Renato Augusto, Giuliano, Willian, Philippe Coutinho, and Lucas Lima (Santos).

Forwards: Neymar, Gabriel Barbosa, Gabriel Jesus, and Taison.


Leave a Comment